Volkswagen Passat Forum banner
1 - 20 of 72 Posts

·
Registered
62 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Could be a stupid question, but I am new in this world and a little confused.
Witch motor is the fastest, a 2.8 V6, or the 1.8T or another model?
I ask because I can read in the specifications that the V6 have 194hp, and the 1.8T is about 150hp, but some articles in this forum indicates that the 1.8T will eat the V6.
And how much different will the top speed be between a variant and a sedan version? :roll:

·
Registered
8,200 Posts
The 1.8t can be chipped to exceed the V6 specification. There are warranty considerations, and you generally have to stiffen the suspension to handle the additional horsepower and torque. In fact, you can plan on maintanence costs increasing in general as a result of chipping. However, it makes the car a good deal more fun to drive.

Regards,

Kenny

·
Registered
9,741 Posts
Thsi one:

Sorry...couldn't resist. :lol:

About the top speed, the car (variant or sedan) is pretty unstable at ridiculously high speeds due to aerodynamic lift, so if you regularly plan to visit the maximum limit of your car, I'd look into something else...

·
Registered
2,392 Posts
Newer Passats (after 2001 or something) have 170HP. With a chip you can add a lot more HP and Torque to that, making more than the V6.

And since the chipped 1.8T can make more HP and Torque than the V6, and it's lighter than the V6, it'll go a little faster.

·
Registered
2,392 Posts
Kenny Payne said:
The 1.8t can be chipped to exceed the V6 specification. There are warranty considerations, and you generally have to stiffen the suspension to handle the additional horsepower and torque. In fact, you can plan on maintanence costs increasing in general as a result of chipping. However, it makes the car a good deal more fun to drive.

Regards,

Kenny
I'm doing perfectly find on the stock wheels/tires/suspension on my 2003 GIAC chipped Passat.

Where are these increased maintanence costs?

·