Volkswagen Passat Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Okay, first post! It feels weird because I generally just lurk haha!

A while back I leant my sister my 2001.5 2.8 4Motion Passat, and oil pressure problems arose and she returned the car with a bad rod bearing. Instead of fixing the bearing, I decided to source a different 2.8 to swap in. I removed the old engine and trans as a unit and swapped everything over that needed to be put on the new engine and then plopped the baby back into the car. Life got in the way and I unfortunately had to postpone the project for a while. When I was able to come back to the car to continue to work on it, I realized that I forgot where a good amount of the wiring harness plugs were supposed to go! And like a total noob, I didn’t even think to mark/ label them as I was disconnecting them. Can anyone point me in the proper direction to find something that will tell/ show me where they go? Thanks in advance! :D

·
Registered
27,066 Posts
If you lay the harness out you will find it generally has 2 sections, left and right. Apart from the vacuum plate/throttle body, everything comes close to lining up with the plugs.
This writeup might help, it has a lot of pics of the top end. If you have specific plugs, post a pic and we can let you know where they go.

Reactions: dakotay

·
Registered
27,066 Posts
I've got plenty of other pics that might help, but let me know which ones you are stuck on.

·
Registered
2001 Passat wagon; 2016 Golf Sportwagen
5,434 Posts
I have a full set of schematics in the Bentley manual, if you get stuck. (The B5 A4 Bentley schematics have been a lifesaver with the 1996 A4.)

·
Registered
54 Posts
I have a full set of schematics in the Bentley manual, if you get stuck. (The B5 A4 Bentley schematics have been a lifesaver with the 1996 A4.)
Hello John,