Volkswagen Passat Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
1,255 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been debating for about 8 months on my new system, and am EXTREMELY happy with the results of my "prototype" vented enclosure. I am currently running a Phoenix Gold Titanium 12 in about 1.9 cubic vented and tuned to 27 hz. Excluding competition cars, i have yet to hear its equal (and even some show cars!!!). Needless to say, I am very happy with this sound. Now, howver, after a few tried and failed attempts to make a suitable enclosure for this that doesnt cost my entire trunk or spare tire (hiere is a pic with two 1.2 cubic sealed enclosures (roughly 2.5 cubic if it was a single enclosure, but you cant fit it through the trunk opening)):

I
am contemplating doing 2 of these subs in an isobarak enclosure. I can go slightly smaller while increasing my response. I will stick with vented and have plenty of power:

so I am just looking for any input (pros vs. cons) on Isobarik enclosures. I am willing to move the amp, but frenkly, I like the way it uses up the "unusable space" between the seats and trunk and its moderately secure there (you can lock the seats in place making it one step harder to get to!). Also, its not really an easy amp to mount anywhere else!

I am most likely going to try something similar to the first picture, but only one speaker will show- the magnet side as it will be a "clamshell" iso.

PS, how do you spell iso barik?

THX!!!

·
Registered
23,183 Posts