Volkswagen Passat Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a newbie, so any advice is greatly appreicated...

I have an 03'4Mo with DD Monsoon. And I want to add navigation. I am deciding between these options.

1) MFD G or GX - My feeling on it's pros are that it's cheaper (I can probably get the whole package for about 1000-1200) and will look great as it's OEM and my steering wheel controls will still work. The cons are that it will most likely be used, warrantyless, unfixable if it breaks, and I'm not sure who I can get to install it.

2) Kenwood Excelon DDx7015 / KNA DV3100 - this is a brand new double din unit with a 6.5 inch touch screen and cd/dvd player in the head unit plus a dvd-rom navigation unit for the trunk. Pros - new, 2 year warranty, touch screen, dvd - Cons - expensive (looks like it will be about 3 K total), I'm worried about theft.

3) Piioneer AVIC-N1 - which I just discovered on this forum - all in one single din radio, cd and navi unti. Pro-s same as Kenwood, plus cheaper. Cons - probably even easier to steal.

Anyway, any inupt would be greatly appreicated. Thanks.

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Good point on the theft.

I actually didn't start to worry about it until I saw the discussion of the Pioneer head unit. Maybe I was just being paranoid.

But beyond that, any thoughts, insight, opinions as to the three options I detailed above (or any other systems you think I should consider) would be greatly appreicated. Thanks again.

·
Registered
81 Posts
I'll admit I am a real cheap bastard, but I am really happy with my Garmin iQue 3600. Its a combo palm and gps unit. Its about $450 for the unit, $50 for the car mount, and $50 for a 256mb sd card if you need alot of maps. Advantages:

1) Cheapest navigation system with spoken directions I have seen
2) Large color touch screen
3) Doubles as a 200mhz palm os5 handheld