Volkswagen Passat Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
the Sal wannabe
4,901 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
ok, so i think i've finally decided to get the flic lex 17x8 35mm offset 225/45R17 with bridgestone POTENZA S-03 (225/45R17) tires to replace my existing stock 16s. question: will this sit really high? i dont want to drop my car low because i want it to be practical. i was recommended to get new suspensions that'll drop the car .5. do i need to get actual suspensions, springs, shocks, coil covers...etc. i am new to all this. any help would be appreciated. my goal is a smoother ride with better handling but still drivable normally (hence not to low). thanks!

char

·
Registered
6,274 Posts
Well, it's a personal choice, but most of us that have gone to larger rims do lower it for cosmetic purposes -- 17" rims make your car look like an SUV if you leave it at the stock height. Flik Lex's are a bit of a double-whammy, since they actually look bigger than 17" -- they make that effect even worse.

There are a couple of suspension options out there if you want to lower it just a bit: Neuspeed SofSports or H&R OE Sports are a good spring to start with (they'll lower your car about .5" to .75"). It's also usually recommended to upgrade your shocks as well, since the OEM shocks tend to be underdamped for upgraded springs, plus they tend to wear out much quicker when you use an aftermarket spring. Bilstein HD's are generally the shock of choice when you're only lowering just a little bit.

Finally, you can go OEM all the way and get the suspension components that make up the 1BE suspension package (which is the optional sports suspension in Europe), but that tends to be somewhat pricey...

Hope that helps...

Andy

·
Registered
1,396 Posts
AJChenMPH said: