Volkswagen Passat Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok ive been shopping for a new car for 6 months now...(my first new car ever!! had my previous car for 11 years now) so my choice has a lot riding on it, ive come close to buying the A4, Accord, and considered the g35. But when i saw the Passat on edmunds, I said Holy [email protected]!, that car is sexy! and its starts around 20k! Then I discover this site and see the beauty and dedication behind these cars and their owners. I would almost say that this site pretty much has sold me on the passat. Sounds like a lot of ass kissing, but its the truth. But not everything is rosy with this car, or at least thats what i gathering from my so called "research". So B5.5 owners plz inform new vw newbie on these touchy subjects...

1. VW dealerships generally speaking, except for liberty, suck ass in customer service? They try to get around covering the warranty and blame the cust for parts that go bad? 1.8t.com rates these dealerships and most arent doing that well.. only liberty seems to really support the community and the owners. I want to know, does VW really stand behind their cars?

2. Vw's sold in some parts of the US are made in Mexico? WTF? is this true all the vins of the passats ive been looking have Germany as the build country, where are they built? i live in Socal so it seems that if they are made in mexico, they would prob be sold in CA for sho. Comments?

3. What does the warranty cover? everything, nothing? just the powertrain? I want to 1.0 bar chip, eibach the springs, and put 18x8 on in the first year, but im afrad that anything goes wrong, the dealer will blame the mods and not honor the warranty. Anybody been denied warranty repair even if its not the mods fault?

4. Coil Packs and Control Arms, the two major malfunctions? ok what do these parts do and is there a pro active way to prevent these from going bad?