Volkswagen Passat Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

I just bought a B5, '02 1.8T. I picked it up in Oregon 21 days ago. That day I drove it back to Utah. Just outside of Twin Falls, ID, the CEL came on. Nothing seemed odd about my driving experience so I ignored it and continued the drive home. Now, a few things have happened since then... I purchased Uwe's fabulous VAG-COM, the HEX-COM to be precise, and I've begun diagnosing the CEL.

The error code I'm getting is: 17536 - Fuel Trim: Bank 1 (Mult): System too Lean

So, I read all over the forums about this and I've essentially come up with two ideas. One is that it is a bad MAF. Second idea is that it's a vacuum leak.

Well, having driven it for 21 days with the problem and having 2 or 3 days to actually look into it myself, I'm no mechanic, I've noticed the following:

First, I only got 26 MPG during the trip from Oregon, which seems low. Second, a couple of days after the CEL came on, I now get a high pitched whining noise or shriek whenever I cause any amount of boost. Third, 6 hoses were not fastened at all in the engine and the intercooler hose has been clipped on with a tiny little c shaped wire, not the stock clamp. I've put clamps on 4 of the 6 missing locations and I've ordered the stock clamp for the intercooler hose. I've reset my codes and I still get the whining and the same code invariably comes back.

Maybe I'm not looking at all the right hoses? I wish there were a simple diagram showing me all the hoses I should check. Anyhow, the whining noise persists, the car can't pass emissions with the CEL on and they won't pass me if I've recently cleared my codes. I need some help.

Thanks,

Ryan

·
Registered
146 Posts
Well as you said you can't get the car to pass without clearing the CEL. Plus you seemed to have narrowed it down to the MAF.

Side note: My car is doing the same thing, but I don't have to worry about the emission test :wink: .