Volkswagen Passat Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
239 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am going to be in the market of getting a bigger turbo soon but i dont really know what to get my car is bone stock right now and i am new to the vw scene. So i was wondering what turbo i should get and what other things you would reccomend me doing when i do the upgrade as in front mount injector ect... and brands. this is also my DD so the work will be done by a machanic

·
Wants to be TheFlipperGray
7,322 Posts
This has so many variables to it, no one can simply say "buy this one!"

You need to figure out a few things first:

How much power are you looking to achieve?
How much are you looking to spend?
Is your car manual or tip?

These determine whether you get a K04 upgrade kit with a tune and injectors, or a GT2871r with manifold, downpipe/HFC, exhaust, tune, injectors, FMIC, TIP/intake, exhaust, oil/coolant lines, or anything even bigger 3076 all of the above + rods. Tranny matters too. You'd need to build valve body/torque converter on a tip to handle the power, and you'll need a performance clutch, pressure plate, and light weight flywheel with a manual.

There's more involved than "hey guys which turbo, and what else do I need?" - You should do some serious searching before you do this project.

·
Registered
2004 GLS 1.8T
12,103 Posts
These cars have computer controlled engines, so you kind of have to take a "systems approach" to upgrades. Nothing really does anything - especially a bigger turbo - unless the software in the ECU supports it. Start looking at the chip tuners (APR, GIAC, Unitronic, etc) and see what you like. Then, buy the parts supported by that tune.

·
Registered
4,426 Posts
Install all this and it'll go really fast lol

-Block and Head completely torn down and rebuilt by yours truly
-60-1 T3/T4 .48 A/R turbo
-Eurodyne Maestro
-B6 S4 MAF housing
-65mm VR6 throttle body
-Port matched and polished intake manifold
-630 injectors
-SCAT forged rods