Volkswagen Passat Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
112 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I've been running APR Stage 3 (the full kit) for a few years now, and I have not been satisfied with the software. My local shop is a Unitronic dealer and he is pushing me to get the 440cc tune.

Being it is already a STG 3 with APR front mount, the only things I would need to upgrade are the injectors (already have them), fpr, maf housing and fuel pump.

Does anybody have any experience with this tune on their 1.8t B5? My APR software is very inconsistent and runs anywhere from 15-21psi on any given day. The APR software came out in the late 90s and there have been no revisions since. Is it worth the extra $1200 or so investment to go Unitronic?

Any input would be appreciated.

Oh and of course a few pics of the car in question:

·
Registered
605 Posts
Software cannot become inconsistent with age, but supporting hardware can be. Boost could vary due to a bad N75 valve, wastegate, or DV. As far as being from the late 90s, this has more to do with introduction of the wideband ME7 system by Audi in 2000. Every tuner stopped developing on the narrowband ME5 system. The APR S3 is probably still the best setup around for our AEB motors, if you are willing to spend that kind of money on a ten year chassis. No doubt you can get even more power, as in APRs S3+, or the Unitronic file with larger MAF and injectors. But what you are saying is the present S3 is not working properly, no? What makes you think changing software will make everything right? Does Uni even have a decent nDBW solution for the GT28r turbo? I know they're supposedly working on a tune for the popular FT, which flows almost the same. My guess is you'd get one of these "custom" tunes, and you'd be the only person running it. Good luck with that.

·
Registered
3,939 Posts
personally, me, I think APR tuning is a hack job. Their customer service is not that far behind as well.