Volkswagen Passat Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am looking at purchasing a 2004 Passat with a 2.8 V6 for my daughters first car. I looked over the car and started it up. It runs so smooth you could place a glass of wine on the engine and not spill a drop. But I had a friend put it in gear while holding the brake and I saw something I have never seen in a car before and I was a mechanic for 15 years earlier in my life. When the car was put in gear the engine smoothly tilted down in the front. My first reaction was it was a broken motor mount. I have seen and replaced quite a few damaged motor mount in the past and the engine always has a shake to it and it jerks when the mount is broke. This motor still ran smooth. Does this engine have some type of mechanism that makes the engine tilt in the front like this or is it a broken moter mount and it just happens to run smoothly.
This may sound stupid, but like I said I am totally new to the volkswagon and have no idea if there is something like this.:

·
Super Moderator
14,055 Posts
Welcome. I moved this into the proper area for you.

·
Registered
782 Posts
in the front of the engine near the bottom of the radiator support, centered(ish) on the engine is the snub mount. this mount is the front mount for the engine. i would look at that, however the engine would want to raise with axiel torque. ive got a 2000 with the V6, ill have to look at my engine and see what tricks it does. your other motor mounts are located underneith to the left and right sides of the engine mounted to aluminum brackets to the engine. they look like short fat cylinders connected with one bolt top and bottom. these need to be replaced when they bleed purple. hopefully someone more knowledged then i will chime in soon.

·
Registered
118 Posts