Volkswagen Passat Forum banner
1 - 20 of 42 Posts

·
Registered
411 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
The taligentx.com tiptronic DIY is awesome (http://www.taligentx.com/passat/maintenance/atfchange/), but sometimes I wish I had a little more hand-holding. Rather than ask a million questions of dozens of PW members, I took the best of the above write-up, went painstakingly slow while performing the work myself, then made my own overly-detailed DIY. Sorry if it's wordy. I figured some folks might actually find it useful.

Tiptronic part numbers & my lame how to:

I'm not a pro and have not had any formal training. The following how-to in no way constitutes professional advice. Follow at your own risk.

For trans codes DDT, DRD, EFP & EKC (mine is an EFP according to the sticker in my owner's manual), VW lists the gasket as part # 01V 321 371 and the filter as 01V 325 429. You also will need a new drain plug (replaced every time and has its own integrated washer), part # 01V 321 377. The check/fill plug needs a new sealing washer every time it is removed (sealing washer part #: 01V 321 379).

Start the process with a cold engine and transmission and the vehicle level. I pulled mine up on my Rhino ramps, then had the back end up on jackstands. It was close enough to level and seems to have worked out just fine for me. Keep in mind that doing it this way will leave your front (drive) wheels on ramps when it comes time to shift through the dears to allow new fluid to flow through the transmission. This means stomping the brake pedal HARD. Some folks have suggested backing the car on to ramps, then putting the front on jackstands. Seems to be a matter of personal preference. I did what was easiest. Your mileage may vary