Volkswagen Passat Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Banned
3,535 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I love modifying my car . But i hate paying for that.
I do everything i can myself. I need an opinion from my fellow B5ers.
Should i do this myself?. Is it a PITA?
Who done it?

·
Registered
381 Posts
DON'T DO IT :shock:
I have no experience in this area, except to giggle and snicker every time I see some old Nissan or Honda running around with purple windows and HUGE bubbles. Some things are worth paying for, besides it shouldn't be more that $200-300.

·
Banned
3,535 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Some things areI worth paying for, besides it shouldn't be more that $200-300
I think 200-300 is a lot of money for that .
I'm willing to learn how to do it right, it can't be that hard to do it . can it

anyone else ?

·
Registered
381 Posts
I was quoted $200 from a tinter with a great reputation. Still haven't decided whether to tint.. but I consider that a good price. Again, keep in mind that I really don't know what I'm talking about here but I think by the time you buy the proper tools, film, and spend hours of your time... suddenly a couple hundred buck ain't bad, imo.

If you do go it alone, may the force be with you - and good luck!

·
Registered
381 Posts
20vvillian said:

Go for it! :lol:
MY POINT EXACTLY!! I find having the headliner flapping in the breeze is also a nice touch!

How about on the back window "In loving memory of.... yada yada" And I thought "Baby on Board" was stupid! :crazy:

·
Registered
1,236 Posts
It's definitely possible and not overly difficult. I watched the guy do my car the entire time and I'm pretty positive I could do a side window. The rear window would be rough, especially if you do it in one piece like my guy did.