Volkswagen Passat Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
151 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have bought a can of gumout at local auto store but it says You can't use it on turbocharged engines :???: according to the manual you spray it in in short bursts. I have always thought that to clean it you have to take it off and not by spraying it in while it sits tight? What should I be aware off before i start doing it?
Does cleaning of throttle body could imrpove gas mileage if it's really dirty?
I was trying to find any info with pics of how cleaning should be done since i'm a newbie to this but no luck/
Please help :weirdo:

·
Registered
151 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
dronek75 said:
I have bought a can of gumout at local auto store but it says You can't use it on turbocharged engines :???: according to the manual you spray it in in short bursts. I have always thought that to clean it you have to take it off and not by spraying it in while it sits tight? What should I be aware off before i start doing it?
Does cleaning of throttle body could imrpove gas mileage if it's really dirty?
I was trying to find any info with pics of how cleaning should be done since i'm a newbie to this but no luck/
Please help :weirdo:
My VW passat is a 99 year, 1.8T AEB engine with 70K on it

·
Registered
151 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
ericpeterman said:
Here you go: http://www.taligentx.com/passat/maintenance/throttlebody/

Forget about putting a new gasket on, unless you rip the old one.

BTW, how has your oil burning problem worked out?