Volkswagen Passat Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
1,688 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Sorry I've never changed the oil and filter on a car before, will be doing it for the first time soon. Can someone please explain what the gasket is? Is it the black rubber ring that's already on the Napa 1333 filter? I noticed that on the past dealership invoices, they always charge about 50 cents for a new gasket with every oil change with their 06A filter. Does this mean the OE filter doesn't have a gasket so it always needs a new one bought separately?

·
Registered
666 Posts
The gasket they charged you for was probably the crush washer used w/the drain plug, but I would hardly know because I choose to extract my oil. You can get the plug and washer for like 1.50 @ ECS, probably twice as much at the stealership.

Good luck

·
Registered
28,876 Posts
I worked as a mechanic for 5 years and never tightened a filter more than hand tight.
Never had one leak. Still doing it that way 20 years later.

·
Registered
1,132 Posts
Gnosis, I am doing the same process. Let us know how much oil you put in. (Don't put in more than 3.75 to start with, then slowly fill to top of crosshatches on dipstick).

·
Registered
1,688 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
I've only gone 3,500 miles on this first synthetic oil change so I still have a couple more months to go. From what I've read here and at bobistheoilguy.com, I think 7,000 miles or 6 months is a good safe interval for my "spirited commuting" driving style on Mobil 1 0w40. I'll definitely post about my first oil change when I do it later this summer, don't you worry!

·
Registered
1,132 Posts
Ya, I get wound up about it too. How many miles on your car? I wouldn't go beyond 5,000. This car has too little oil in it even with the big kahuna. Besides, you can change it sooner! :)

·
Registered
1,688 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 ·