·
Registered
537 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
technical question from a newbie--- UPDATE! PICS too

Alright, from the top.
(i am new to VW, bare with me)

-Saw the ad on CL for a 99 1.8T, it said "bad alternator"
-I went there with a jump pack, it was weak..engine barely turned and didn't start
-I bought the car and had it towed home
-Tried jumping again with my Legend, sounded like it wanted to start, but didn't
-Ripped the battery out and charged it.
-Tried to start with the freshly re-charged jump pack alone (no battery), lights lit up, but did not even try to start.- acted like an anti-theft system was in place...
-Tested battery by dealer- "Good Battery"
-Re-installed the same battery. Went to start it..Still acts like anti-theft system won't let it attempt to turn over.

At this point i did another re-evaluation and took note of the following:

-Trunk latch will not latch..light in dashboard on. Is there a safety feature that won't let it start? (i tried having someone push down while i turned the car on-it didnt change anything) Gas door button works, trunk button in glovebox has no reaction

-I have strong power in headlights, brake lights..radio works, dash lights up, no interior courtesy lights, no power in window switches (they do roll up/down with the key from outside),

-tried the "2 minute drill", heard what i thought was the throttle valve go into position...still did even attempt to turn over when i tried to start it.
i did not hear the beeping warning that the key is in the ignition and driver door is open...again, no courtesy lights either.

-Checked most of the fuses in the door panel, all the ones i checked look good.

-no reaction to any keyless entry functions

-red light near my gear shifter is on, looks like my foot should be on the brake...tried different combinations...no luck.