Volkswagen Passat Forum banner

1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
168 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was told that it was a good idea to put in synthetic blend before going to full synthetic oil by a friend of mine who has a passat. Righ now I'm using regular oil for my V6 but I am due for an oil change so I decided to go synthetic because everyone else I talked to said its a good idea and worth it. So I guess my question is do I need to use synthetic blend the first few oil changes and then go to regular synthetic? Or just go right to regular synthetic?

·
Registered
831 Posts
i have no personal experience w/ this product, but i think a lot of people will recommend you Auto-Rx your car to remove sludge that has built up, search the forums and net, you should find a lot of info on it, and someone else will chime in i'm sure

·
Registered
3,559 Posts
Go straight to VW spec. 502.00 oil which is the recomended oil. I believe all the oils that meet 502.00 are synthetic. Auto-Rx won't hurt but probably no need to do it on the V6.

·
Banned
401 Posts
a lot of people like the synthetic oil. Its better too then just regular oil. When I first used synthetic I just went right with it I did put any synthetic blend. you can do that but I dont think it will cause any problems to just put full synthetic:thumbup:

·
Registered
1,657 Posts
I believe with switching to synth there is a possibility of having your gaskets leak. I'm not sure why this happens but I think it’s because mineral based oil tends to swell gaskets. I'm not sure if switching to a blend help this problem.

·
Banned
401 Posts
Yeah maybe at worst the two oils is bob together and sludge...but I have yet to see it and the V6 is really good at getting all the oil out. You would be fine to run syn in it.