Volkswagen Passat Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
310 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
What's up fellas,

I'm new to the whole VW thing. As you can tell by my user name, I'm a former Honda/Acura enthusiast who happened to fall into the VW world by unfortunate (but good now) circumstances. On 2/7 I fell victim to a chain reaction accident and slammed into the back of a Mercury Mountaineer, causing $4900 and change damages to my car ('95 Integra GSR). So, as you can imagine, my insurance co. totalled it out. I was planning on buying another GSR but I found my current ride, a '98 Passat 1.8t (duh).

I picked up my car with 78k miles for $8000, which I (and my bank) felt was a superb deal. The dealership ditched the stock wheels in favor for some decent Mille Miglia 17" alloys and also installed a rear spoiler, so I was totally sold on the car's looks. The ride was also a drastic change from the noisy, harsh feel of my Integra. For the first week of owning the car, it felt great... but however, this leads up to my actual question...