Volkswagen Passat Forum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey People,

This is my first post :nervous: .I am a college student and I have had my 98 V6 for a year now. I was wondering if I should go through the trouble of saving up + installing + taking care of a supercharger. I was wondering if some of you could tell me some experiences (hopefully good) with supercharging your passat.

Thanks

P.S. Sorry 1.8T guys, I'll make sure my next post includes you too:angel:

·
Registered
5,404 Posts
Yes. The PES supercharger is a very good system.
You do need to amke sure your car is in absolutley top notch shape before you do it though.
Also, it will void any warranties you have.

·
Registered
952 Posts
To maximize the SC you'll probably want headers and exhaust too. And air intake, and new clutch (if applicable). The costs will start to escalate, and being a college student, how much can you save? You're looking at $3k easy...

·
Registered
2,986 Posts
To maximize the SC you'll probably want headers and exhaust too. And air intake, and new clutch (if applicable). The costs will start to escalate, and being a college student, how much can you save? You're looking at $3k easy...
you dont really need a new clutch....it is a good upgrade but dont NEED it.

exhaust is ok , headers you wont need...you can get them..but wont make much diff for the horsepower per Dollar (bang for the buck so to speak)....
intake helps somewhat with throttle response...

but overall yes the supercharger is worth it.'

my car has been charged for 1600 miles or so..and LOVE it.

·
Registered
952 Posts
i'm basing the need for a new clutch on the fact that's its a used '98. You never know how the person drove it before (unless it was your pops or mom). The stock clutch will handle 300 hp, but if it's worn, it won't last too long once you start zipping along with that SC

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·