Volkswagen Passat Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4,576 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Looking for some advice here. I've been on the prowl for some high end sunglasses for driving the last couple of weeks.
Curious to know if anybody has used / owned Maui Jim and or Serengeti glasses or other high end models. These are not $49.99 glasses I'm talking about, so I'm not looking for comparisons of the like. I'm looking to spend upwards of $400 per pair, more if it can be justified.
This AZ sun has proven a force to be reckoned with. I spend a large amount of time behind the wheel in the driving sun and quite honestly, it's nothing short of dangerous without eye protection.
So I'm looking for personal experiences that can help me make an informed purchase.

·
Registered
214 Posts
I've been using Ray-Ban glasses for many years (the aviator style). I am perhaps on my 5th or 6th pair. I just recently had cataract surgery so it was time for a new pair. There are prescription glasses, also cut for bi-focal use, and with full photochromic capability. The photochromic capability has improved significantly in recent years, the time from clear to sun (and reverse) is very short. I opted for the largest lens available. Sort of Audrey Hepburn size. Not cheap, $600. For my regular glasses, I went to Costco for a set for about $230.

·
Registered
4,576 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I've been using Ray-Ban glasses for many years (the aviator style). I am perhaps on my 5th or 6th pair. I just recently had cataract surgery so it was time for a new pair. There are prescription glasses, also cut for bi-focal use, and with full photochromic capability. The photochromic capability has improved significantly in recent years, the time from clear to sun (and reverse) is very short. I opted for the largest lens available. Sort of Audrey Hepburn size. Not cheap, $600. For my regular glasses, I went to Costco for a set for about $230.