Volkswagen Passat Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
2,777 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok so this morning i was on my way home from my friends house doing 90-95 mph when a cop gets on the freeway behind me and pulls me over, i saw him a half mile back, but he was on to me like flies on sugar, so he pulled me over and said " you were late to get over" i said "What?" and he said "i had to do 110 to catch up to you and i saw that you saw me and tried to get over but you were too slow" and so he wrote me a ticket for 84+, he said if he wrote the 92mph that i was going i would not be eligible for traffic school, so he put it under 85mph.

OK so I am a college student and it is hard for me to come up with the money for the ticket, has anyone in California gotten out of a ticket in this type of situation?

$$$ :Yikes: $$$

·
Registered
353 Posts
well in connecticut the 85+ ticket which i got recently was 294$ i plea not guilty go to courthouse and prosecutor gives reduced sentence and dropped it to 70$ i was also doing 92 but the cop gave me the ticket for 85+ thats how it works here i don't know bout california

·
Registered
2,777 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
ya im aware about the slow down part and i am going to the traffic school. But when you plead not guilty what did the cop say?

·
Registered
4,730 Posts
At the very least I would go to court. I believe, if I'm not mistaken, if the traffic officer does not show up you'll get off the hook. If he does show up I believe you can request for calibration records for the radar gun, I think it's supposed be calibrated x times per year.

Good luck with that.

·
Registered
1,457 Posts