Volkswagen Passat Forum banner

1 - 20 of 67 Posts

·
Registered
73 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My 2000 Passat with 288k miles on it is in the shop because the battery keeps dying. I just called and got an informal list of problems:

Battery barely passes load test
Secondary Air Injection Pump Failure
Front-left tie rod has play in it
Front right CV boot is torn
Front tires are worn down to the bars

I will update the list tomorrow when I get the final call.

I am a high school student going to college in August, and I have been contemplating selling the car before I go to school. This car is one of my most cherished possessions since I paid for it myself, but I can't see sinking money into major repairs when I'm going off to school. What do you suppose I do?

The car probably won't pass inspection in June either. Back in September it threw a catalytic converter code and the engine light has been on since the day after I purchased it. I'm just looking to do whats best for my future and wallet.

And yes, I know german cars cost $$$.

Thanks for the advice Passatworldians

·
Registered
994 Posts
All cars cost money to keep up, if you like the car repair the items. You can't really judge a repair list against what the car may be worth because all cars have maint that needs to be kept up with and sometimes the maint items are large, sometimes they are small. Honestly if you spent a bit of time researching you could tackle most of that list for a few hundred bucks by doing it your self.

·
Registered
5,489 Posts