Volkswagen Passat Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just purchased a 2004.5 Passat GLS and I absolutely love it. Its a nice upgrade from the Honda. I am a complete newbie to VW's, but have been building/racing cars for quite some time. I have a couple very general questions which I searched for on the board, but was unable to locate any answers.

1) Has anyone had any success with interior trim kits? I bought one off of eBay, and when I received it it was this awful rubery looking plastic that I would not put anywhere in my car. Does VW make an aluminum interior kit, and if so, about how much does it cost, and where can I order it.

2)Is there a factory turbo timer on the 1.8T's? Sometimes when I cut the car off, a noise drones on from under the hood. The engine isn't running, but it sounds like something is still moving.

3) Is there a factory blowoff valve on the 1.8T? From what I gathered on here there seems to be, but where is it located, and why can't I hear it when I shift.

The thought of running my car without a blow off valve or turbo timer scares me. If these are not factory instaled parts I will be purchasing both very soon. Any recommendations? THanks

Everett

·
Registered
4,011 Posts
Welcome to the Club :thumbup:

1)It is not Alu, but if you give PM to Blownaway (he is from LibertyVW) he'll give you some good advices http://www.clubb5.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=42450

2)OE turbo timer do not exist, but is VERY VISE to have it.It will be of great help when stop car, to cool of turbo.I would say essential item for extending life of turbo.

3) can't tell you, my car is V6

hope that you will find what you are looking for :thumbup:

·
Registered
117 Posts
A list of Answers: