Volkswagen Passat Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
180 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
any modifications to reduce/eliminate these 2 in a B5.5 passat? I need some ideas folks. Please help

·
Registered
145 Posts
More info would be good bro! Are you talking about a specific noise you're hearing? If so, where is it coming from? Car/Engine? Did you try a search? :thumbup:

·
Registered
444 Posts
More info would be good bro! Are you talking about a specific noise you're hearing? If so, where is it coming from? Car/Engine? Did you try a search? :thumbup:

I think he's specifically talking about road and wind noise. I'm not an expert, but I think the road noise comes from the road and the wind noise comes from the wind? :poke:

In other words, I got nothing to contribute to this thread :( I have an 02 and it is noisy compared to other cars.

·
Super Moderator
14,067 Posts
Some tires are quieter than others on the road. I'm happy with the lower tire noise from the Michelin Pilot Exhaltos.

·
Registered
122 Posts
My Passat is the quietest car I've ever owned...until the tree fell on it and messed up the driver's door and pillar. I'm gonna have to get that fixed real soon.

·
Registered
897 Posts
Take a ride in a Toyota Matrix XRs - then get back in your Passat.
The noise won't bother you any more!
So true, talk about noisy and uncomfortable. The Accords also have more road noise than the Passat. But the road noise can also be the kind of tires that you have. The Passat sedans have a class leading cd of 0.27 as opposed to the wagons that are either 0.29 or 0.30. Having things like a roof rack and the cross members can also attribute to wind noise. My sister's 06' Lexus IS250 is also a very noisy on the freeway, not so with the Passat which is much quieter.

·
Registered
5,404 Posts
Passat does seem to create a lot of wind noise around 80mph
Fold in the mirrors?
I suggest just going at WOT, then yoiu just hear engine :p

·
Registered
6,269 Posts