Volkswagen Passat Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all.
First time posting on the forum but I've visited often and love all the info and advice!
I'm by no means a professional mechanic but I like to get in there and do the job myself when possible.

So my issue:
I just finished replacing the timing belt with new tensioner and roller.
This was the 2nd time I've done this job to this car and the first time it went great.
I set the marks on the old belt and sprockets and then copied those marks on to my new belt and re-installed.
I did the two rotations to listen and check everything.

Put the car back together and it started, ran and idled perfectly and I drove it home (20min drive) to a nice warm garage where she sat for 3 days or so.

This morning I jumped in the car and now it won't turn over.
I had a problem with the battery previously so I replaced that but no change, won't turn over.

When I was doing the manual two rotations and checking the TDC marks I did notice that the cam and crank TDC marks were not aligning and that the crank was about 1 inch ahead of it's mark when the cam was on.

As the marks on the belts and sprockets all matched up I didn't think it was an issue. Could be a huge noob mistake after reading about interference engines and bent valves etc.

So I'm thinking to crack it back open and reset the timing.
I can't seem to find clear instructions on resetting these though if they don't line up.
Can I turn these independently of each other to get them where they need to be or what's the best procedure?
I've scoured through the forums and believe I should just set the crank and then turn the cam on it's own.

Thanks in advance for any advice!

·
Registered
4,819 Posts
When I was doing the manual two rotations and checking the TDC marks I did notice that the cam and crank TDC marks were not aligning and that the crank was about 1 inch ahead of it's mark when the cam was on.