Volkswagen Passat Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hi-- i just found out about this site. im not an expert on anything to do with car modifications, and dont plan to do anything really exotic with my 2001.5 passat gls 1.8T--which i bought a week after they came out here in san diego. (march 2001). i now have 45,000 miles with no real complaints. i did need one new headlamp--shortly after the warranty expired. and i recently had to replace a coolant temp sensor (or something like that). that seemed expensive. anyway, to my questions:
i have been using regular gas in the car, as i recall "click & clack" on public radio say it was fine to use regular. but my mechanic told me i really should be running premium, as premium prevents some kind of build-up in the system. he also suggested i would get better mileage. if the mileage part is right, then my added cost for the gas would be offset by the better mileage. also, when does one know when the turbo comes on? im always curious about the threshold for that. someone also told me the passat does not have independent rear suspension. i appreciate any feedback. anybody have suggestions for simple modifications to this car for this neophyte?

·
Registered
114 Posts
Premium is a must for this engine. Anyone who tells you that you can run regular and get the same performance doesn't know what they are talking about. Your gas mileage will improve as well. The turbo will come on at about 2500 RPMs and you'll feel a rush of acceleration all the way up through about 5500 RPMs. If your radio is off, you'll also hear the sweet high pitched whine of the turbo spooling up. I think it sounds better than any music I've got in my car. Sorry don't know about the rear suspension on a 2001.5.

The simplest modifications, and being a new owner of a Passat the first ones I will make are;

-GIAC chip = $495
-Eibach pro kit = $700
-New wheels & tires = $1300