Volkswagen Passat Forum banner
1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
PassatWorld Staff
12,264 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
You CAN get better feel out of your power steering! Hurray! :D

The return hose to the PS reservoir (the skinny hose) has reducers in it that apparently raise the pressure. Removing the reducers apparently reduces the pressure, resulting in better "feel." It's not dramatic, just a nice little mod that makes the steering more pleasant. I've been running it this way for two months now with no problems. A friend in Denver drove it and said he could feel the difference - he drove the car in June, b4 the mod, and again in August, right after the mod. (Note that since my front swaybar is removed, I have ridiculously light steering effort. It is possible that with a front sway installed, you would feel a greater improvement than I did.)

The people on Audiworld who have done this have drilled out the reducers. I drilled mine out and it wasn't enough. So I just took them out. The easiest way to take them out is to *not* take them out - just go buy 2 ft. (cut-to-fit) of 3/8" I.D. oil/tranny cooler hose, and replace the reduced hose, and the hose clamps while you're at it. This way, if you don't like the mod, you can just swap the OEM hose back in.

BTW, get some VW-approved PS fluid to replace what drains out.

Benefits -
A pleasant, slight increase in steering effort. I can feel it at low speed/parking (couldn't feel any diff with the drilled-out reducer), and in high-speed sweepers, I actually get some feedback! Not a lot, but enough improvement to make it worth the effort to swap the hose. No more video-game steering. Nice.

No more leaking PS hoses. I had re-clamped the hoses with Fuel Injection clamps, and they STILL leaked. Not any more. I've been running it this way for two months. Not a drop. Nice.

Drawbacks -