Volkswagen Passat Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Greetings. I have recently inherited my Dad's Passat.

It's a Colorado Red V6 5 Speed with BBS wheels. It is my first five speed (which I am loving) and will also be my first modded car. I am looking at body kits first off, and would love to know where you guys found eyebrows, and clear lights for the side head lights. Keep in mind, I am a poor college student. Looking forward to being part of the community.

·
Registered
864 Posts
Welcome man! Glad to see you are enjoying the car. The best place to find parts for your car like lighting is in the marketplace. Get them from Troopster, he is the man and awesome prices! Also keep an eye out in the classifieds, there are always good deals in there. GL man and lets see some pics!

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Pics will be up soon...

Are the Colorado red Passats the only color with the ugly black trim at the bottom? It doesn't really matter, I will be getting new bumpers anyways....

Also, why are half the people telling me it's necessary to shift after 4 grand, but others such as my dad tell me its bad for the engine to shift after 4000.

I shift right at 4000 to split the difference of opinions. I'm fairly new at manual so any know how is appreciated.

·
Registered
26,965 Posts
Shifting for power usually is at higher rpm than 4K. Shifting for economy would be much lower. Nothing wrong with redline either. You are not going to kill the engine, just burn more fuel.

·
Registered
5,619 Posts
welcome to the club!!! i got a 99 that i inherited and im loving it as well!!! mods are coming soon so i'll keep u posted

Keeps us all posted as you put mods on your car!

Check the classifieds for all the parts your looking for..you will be suprised with what you will find:p

·
Registered
1,379 Posts
dolldagga said:
Pics will be up soon...