Volkswagen Passat Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a hole in my flex pipe...I think :confused:...or on the down-pipe itself since its pretty much rusted out, going to replace the down-pipe altogether:wrench:.

But I was thinking maybe to coat the new pipe with this high temp paint VHT FlameProof™ Coating to avoid it rusting this bad again?

Has anyone ever painted their exhaust, is this a good or bad idea?

·
Registered
750 Posts
Isn't stainless steel a lot more expensive?
it is more $$ but in my opinion its worth it! My exhaust was falling apart and i replaced it with tectonics tuning 2.5 inch cat back system with borla mufflers. I have been running this for about two years and it has held up great. I plan to run my passat into the ground and i don't anticipate having to work on it again. just inspected it on the lift a few weeks ago and it looks perfect. it did cost me a pretty penny though.

·
I had a steering knuckle in my shed. Really!
4,159 Posts
Problem with paint is that it's only on the outside. Exhaust is mostly water vapor and CO2. This water vapor will rust your painted exhaust from the inside out. So painting the exhaust may slow down the external corrosion, but stainless will still far outlast it.

·
Registered
528 Posts
Problem with paint is that it's only on the outside. Exhaust is mostly water vapor and CO2. This water vapor will rust your painted exhaust from the inside out. So painting the exhaust may slow down the external corrosion, but stainless will still far outlast it.
Very true about the internal moisture rusting exhaust systems from the insides out. However, the pipe section themselves don't usually trap water and typically last a longer than mufflers and resonators that do tend to trap moisture and not evaporate that moisture as quickly. Every rusted through exhaust I've had was in the muffler itself.