Volkswagen Passat Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
165 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Oh brother, here we go. I just bought an 02 Variant and it's got the Monsoon tape deck system up front and a 6-disc changer in back. The head unit has changer controls, but I would like to have a CD slot in the dash so I am not constantly having to pull over & reload the changer (my taste in music changes about every day).

The question here is this: Did VW have a Monsoon unit with a single CD slot AND changer controls for the unit in the rear?

What should I be searching for on Ebay? What are some key words? I also heard that the wiring harness changed between 02 and 03, so are there any other warnings I should be looking out for?

Hook a total noob up, couldja? :wink:

·
Registered
2,105 Posts
pm Paul, Quality_Sound, he can help you with all your questions.

·
Registered
23,177 Posts
VW did have a single DIN cassette HU and in dash 6 cd changer. There is a GB for the changer and then all you have to do is find the HU itself. I'd scrap the whole schmooze and do an aftermarket HU with a cd slot and changer controls. Here's what I'D do, Kenwood indash cd player with changer controls. Then add a 10 disch changer AND the Music Keg. 8) Total cool baby.

Paul :thumbup:

·
Registered
165 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
The trunk changer is cool, but I think the "start with a whole new head unit" option may be what I end up doing. I have about 500+ CD's and I usually just grab about 2 or 3 on the way out the door in the morning or whatever, but I really don't feel like having to reload the cartridge every day. :thumbdow: I'll just see what I can dig up for a single in-dash player and then wire it up to the existing changer out back for long road trips. Like when I drive down to APR this Friday. :D

·
Registered
165 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
quality_sound said: