Volkswagen Passat Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a newbie to VW and am looking to buy a 2001 or newer Passat and noticed that many of the people in this post use the terms "W8" and "variant." What exactly is the difference between a Passat W8 Sedan and a Passat Sedan?

I know these are lame questions, but I'm new at this. I've been driving a 1994 Pontiac Grand Prix for the last 6 years, oh it's color is Aquamarine. (yes, feel sorry for me)

·
Registered
4,292 Posts
variant is the term for station wagon
the difference between the W8 and a regular gls sedan is that the W8 has an 8 cylinder engine as well as 4 motion all wheel drive.

hope these answers help

·
Retired PassatWorld Staff
6,165 Posts
variant is a wagon. and the W8 is an engine. It's an evolution of the VW 'VR' engines. These use a common head, and narrow angle between cylinders (so it's like half way between a V, and inline. The W is basically two of these connected at the crank. So there's 15 degrees between the cylinders in each bank, and two banks separated by 65 degrees (IIRC).

Think of the W8 as an odd V8.

·
Registered
1,168 Posts
Hi and welcome to the club. A Passat W8 is one with the 8 cylinder engine (cylinders in more of a "W" configuration than a "V"). The term "variant" is the German equivalent of stationwagon.

·
Registered
5,335 Posts
"Variant" is what the station wagon is called in Germany. We're just cool like that.

"W8" refers to the W8 engine, where the engine consists of two V4 engines that are then arranged in a "V" of their own. (That is grossly simplified, but will do.)

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Thanks

Thank you for the info.. that link really cleared things up. So here's more questions for you: