Volkswagen Passat Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

I am new to these cars, which is the reason I am posting this. I am supposed to be starting a job soon, which requires me to put on about ~35k miles per year. I have decided to purchase a car and have been looking at some 03-04 passats.

So in my search I have been interested in both the sedans and wagons in automatic, but I come across a good deal in a manual 03 passat wagon gls with 33k miles.

My questions are:

This car I am purchasing is in the vicinity of ~30k miles, what will I be looking for in maintenance issues?

Do the 1.8L 20V's (other than the sludge) have any major problems or issues that I need to know about?

Since I am getting only the CPO warranty (factory ran out in september of 06...4 yrs.) do you think this car is reliable enough to get me by for a couple of years doing ~35k a year?

Lastly, are these cars worth the 15-16k price tag the dealers are getting?

Any thoughts, suggestions or concerns are greatly appreciated.

TIA,
Chris.

·
Confused
3,557 Posts
Chris, you've come to the right place. I responded to your post on 'vortex, but I think you will find this place an invaluable resource as well. Good luck!

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Chris, you've come to the right place. I responded to your post on 'vortex, but I think you will find this place an invaluable resource as well. Good luck!
Yes, and I appreciate your response. I am just trying to get some feedback before I actually go ahead and purchase this passat.

Thank you again,
Chris.

·
Registered
1,998 Posts
35k miles a year....y not just buy a honda?....After one year youll have 60k+ miles...within one and a half years you are looking at liek 5gs worth of maintenence. Timing Belt, Water pump, etc. Clutch, etc. I just dont think its worth it, if you put that many miles on it a year

·
Registered
2,944 Posts