Volkswagen Passat Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
237 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
alright so I know there are far more informed members than myself on this topic. I'm a college student, on the go and I need a new laptop. I'm looking for the right price (money is tight and I have an expensive habbit in my car :crazy: ) and def. need reliability, battery life, and a good processor/hard drive. I will be using this for typical college related tasks, and also as a vag-com for my passat...and this summer to run some "piggy back" ecu software (for bigger turbo, injectors, map sensors, etc..). The last laptop that I have is from Dell, and I'm somewhat hessitant to go back to them. Any input is greatly appreciated as I need it :D

·
Registered
4,407 Posts
Look up my other posts, but in a nutshell.

I bought an HP zt3000 in December, and couldnt be happier.
Its small, 1.3" thin and 6.4lbs
15.4" wide screen
Pentium M 1.6Ghz (benchmarks at 3.06Ghz speeds)
Integrated 802.11G wireless
Integrated Bluetooth
64Mb ATi Radeon 9200 Graphics
4-5 hour battery life

So far not a single problem.
Starts at $1049 with free shipping.

www.hpshopping.com

-Nick

·
Registered
829 Posts
I just ordered a Dell, think it is the 600m model. I ordered this one due to the Dell credit program as well as the fact they seem pretty inexpensive. But I have been reading about these overheating problems and issue with the motherboard which I am worried about now. I picked out the 600m due to it being the first in pricing line having a serial port on the back for my VAG-COM. it was $1200 on Dell credit.

I would advise check out cnet.com for laptop reviews.

·
Registered
457 Posts
I ended up getting a vaio (went against most peoples advice) and it is awesome. I probably didnt need as much as it offers but the thing is amazing. It is the pcg-k15. I got the damn thing at your local circuit city to avoid tax, right on woobury st., 1700 to be exact :eek:h:

·
Registered
1,087 Posts
HvyDrnkr23 said: