Volkswagen Passat Forum banner

1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have an '02 1.8 with 114,000 miles. Was getting the oil changed at cheapo places until last 2 changes and put in Mobil 1 10w 30 high mileage. Yesterday got the low pressure light on my way home. Drove another 2 miles or so and when I got home added a little bit of oil and drove another 1 mile and light came on and stayed on. The car has sat since then. I did start it up again today and engine is running rough. When I checked the oil it is very dark so I assume that I have the dreaded sludge. My question is should I try the Auto RX now or is my only option to just bite the bullet and pull the oil pan and clean the screen? Is there any other options up front that are somewhat less expensive/ costly/ time consuming? I am not a mechanic but am not a total idiot. I changed the half axels and can do oil changes, brakes, alternators and what not but dont want to get in over my head. Any advice or help would be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
227 Posts
DON'T drive it. I was in pretty much the exact same situation. (albeit I had been using the proper oil). 02 1.8T w/ 113,000 miles. I tried Auto-RX and thought it was working. 1000 miles into the Auto-RX treatment my engine seized and was trashed. $3500 later I learned an expensive lesson.

My understanding is that dropping the oil pan in the 1.8T requires lifting the engine. It's not an easy job. If you are worried about getting in over your head, I would have the car towed to a competent mechanic. Have them drop the pan, replace the pump/pick-up screen if need be, clean the pan and run some engine clean cycles.

I'm guessing you've probably got a good $1,000 of work in front of you... but from experience, $1,000 would be much better than $3,500.

·
Registered
227 Posts