Volkswagen Passat Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
195/65R15 size tires and want to keep it around 500 or less.

I am running 15 inch stock wheels on my 2003 B5.5 and need a little help in picking a set of new tires. I want something that is going to last me awhile. I have heard great things about Michelin- Pilot Exalto A/S, Michelin- Energy MXV4 Plus, Goodyear- Assurance TripleTred, Continental- Pro Contact, and finally the Bridgeston- Potenza RE960AS Pole Position. I went on Tirerack.com and saw that these all have like the same ratings. PLEASE PLEASE if you have had or have these tires please give me some help on making this decision. I am a college student whom commutes about 50 miles a day and need a good long lasting set of tires. Please any help is a great help because droping 500 bills on tires is tough enough for me.

·
Banned
8,975 Posts
The Michelin Energy's are the only tires in that lineup that will last a long time. They stick pretty well too, if you haven't chipped your engine anyway.

In general, french rubber is the only way to go. Pirellis can be as good, but not as consistently good.

·
Registered
6,143 Posts
The Triple Tred is a good tire. 80,000 mile warranty, 30 day test drive - if you don't like them, sent them back, and free 2 year roadside assistance for flat tire/spare swap.

·
Registered
2,139 Posts
195/65R15 size tires and want to keep it around 500 or less.