Volkswagen Passat Forum banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Greetings,

I am new to the VW arena. I am in the market for purchasing a Passat and want to make this my everyday car. I went to the dealership and test drove the 6cyl and the 4cyl and all it did was confuse me.

My present car is a 2000 BMW Dinan 740i sport. I orginally purchased this car to make it my everyday auto.

It was great till the transmission went out at 74,000 miles and BMW customer service basically told me to kiss there behinds!!! BMW shut the door in my face as if I was selling life insurance and pre-paid legal services to their CEO and his wife.

To make a long story short I am now paying $5,100.00 for a new transmission that halted out of character.

But at any rate I vowed to get rid of the beamer and I test drove the passat and was impressed. It gets up just as fast as my 740i. I want it bad.

Any info would be great..... Year to buy, How long do they last, etc.

Thanks,
a former beamer owner. :bow:
Oracleman
aka willj

·
Registered
1,359 Posts
If you are interested in upgrading and making it faster, you can do alot with less money on the 1.8T. If you want to leave it mainly in a stock configuration then the V6 is the way to go. Just my .02

·
Registered
1,886 Posts
Oracleman, tell Larry I said Hi. I work for Peoplesoft :poke:

Just kidding man. Welcome to the club. Now, if you are at all interest or think there is a chance that you may be interested in doing mods to improve the performance of the engine, go with the 1.8t.

The reason is this: With around $500, you can chip it and make it have pretty much the same or more horsepower and torque as the V6, and it will weigh less.

Although, if you are not interested in engine mods (not very former-Dinan-owning-BMW sounding) then maybe the V6 is your bag of tea. It is much more expensive to tune up the V6 though, but it can be done.

Good luck in your decision!

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #4