Volkswagen Passat Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone, I know there has been many other posts about this, but some are old and don't have pictures anymore, so I thought I would contribute my experience from when I decided to paint the lowers on my '03 B5.5 to try and match the rest of the car.

Obvious Disclaimer: I am not a professional painter, nor do I guarantee results the same (or better, or worse) than my experience. This post is purely for information, and if you take of pieces of your car and paint them, there is no guarantee that you will like it, and no guarantee that you can make it back to the way it was before, because you will be sanding pieces and changing the overall appearance of certain items. There, now I said it!:salute:

So, after many different searches, and debating whether or not to go with a body kit or not, or just a front valence, etc. I decided to start off by painting the lowers. I think it renews the car, and gives it an updated look, all without breaking the bank. This took me an entire day, but remember, you have some downtime while you're waiting for some paint to dry...(Hint:downtime = :beer: time)

First things first, the products I used. Good ol' Kragen(O'reilly or other national chain) had everything I needed, plus I used a few things from the garage. I used:

Dupli Color Adhesive Promoter (helps paint stick to things like plastic) = 1 can did it for me
Primer (I used grey, my car is reflex silver) = 2 cans
DupliColor Paint (matched for VW reflex silver) = 3 cans
DupliColor Clear Coat (self explanatory) = 3 cans
Handheld Sander (trust me, you don't want to hand sand everthing)
Painters tape
Various screwdrivers and pliers to take off body pieces
A buddy helps, but not necessary
Patience