Volkswagen Passat Forum banner
1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I know this has been posted in other threads but I must say I never paid any attention to them. I used to buy from various stations in NJ, but the other day I decided to fill up with Shell v-power 93 in my W8. I can honestly say that there is a difference. Now I believe.. Amen

-MikedW8

·
Registered
399 Posts
I've been using Shell for several years now. Ever since they started giving a 5% discount for using their credit card. At today's prices that's about 13 cents per gallon saved.

·
Registered
2001 Passat wagon; 2016 Golf Sportwagen
5,504 Posts
I use either Shell V-Power (91 octane in CA) or Chevron Supreme (also 91), always from stations which do high-volume, high-turnover business.

·
Registered
9,414 Posts
you got me thinking now//.........:hmmm:

does this 10% ethnol really mess up performance cause i read that most people look for the stations that dont have it in there premium gas ?

·
Registered
649 Posts
you got me thinking now//.........:hmmm:

does this 10% ethnol really mess up performance cause i read that most people look for the stations that dont have it in there premium gas ?
I would like to know as well, I always use Sonoco Ultra 94 Octane here in Canada and they use 10% Ethanol but they have the higher octane rating... What is the consensus on ethanol?

·
Registered
773 Posts
I would like to know as well, I always use Sonoco Ultra 94 Octane here in Canada and they use 10% Ethanol but they have the higher octane rating... What is the consensus on ethanol?
Even though Ethanol has higher octane content, the mpg that you get from ethanol is lower. I think if you were to use 100% ethanol your mpg would reduce by 20-25%. So my guess is you would loose about 2% mpg with 10% ethanol. If you car is giving you 20 mpg that is about 0.4 mpg loss with 10% ethanol.

·
Registered
649 Posts