Volkswagen Passat Forum banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
I'm just itching to be Banned
13,871 Posts
If anyone does decide to do this, be sure and go with higher quality film, just by reading the comments on the thread towards the end, it sounds like this guy just ruined his paintjob. Do note on the front bumper there is already vinyl bubbling up, what will it looks like 6 months from now?

·
Registered
9,106 Posts
Summary for the impatient:

"Nice! Where'd you get the vinyl?"
"VOMIT"

·
13,871 Posts
Summary for the impatient:

"VOMIT"
Followed by

"Hey I'm an expert and that vinyl is going to destroy your paint"

"silence"

:lol:

·
Registered
9,106 Posts
I think it's a great job, but if he really only plans to keep it on there for a year, it's not worth the trouble (especially if it f*cks up his paint). I'd like to see 3M or someone come up with a solid version of clearbra, custom cut for specific models. I'd probably pay several hundred dollars to protect the paint and change the car's color for a few years.

I still shudder to remember every house where I've ever peeled old wallpaper. :banghead:

·
13,871 Posts
I think it's a great job, but if he really only plans to keep it on there for a year, it's not worth the trouble (especially if it f*cks up his paint). I'd like to see 3M or someone come up with a solid version of clearbra, custom cut for specific models. I'd probably pay several hundred dollars to protect the paint and change the car's color for a few years.

I still shudder to remember every house where I've ever peeled old wallpaper. :banghead:
3M already has vinyl in pretty much any color you can think of. Do you remember the matte black Ferrari that was posted up on here a while back? that was all done with 3M colored vinyl. You can get the vinyl in any color, including clear. It is epensive, but it does not damage the paint and it removes easily without damage.

·
Registered
11,541 Posts