Volkswagen Passat Forum banner
1 - 20 of 67 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
:bow:

After panel lights in a brand new 2003 Passat W8, including the “Airbag Warning” icon, began flashing crazily, I was slowing to turn off the highway when the driver's side head air curtain airbag exploded down without any apparent reason.

A few minutes later, after all the acrid smoke was gone from inside the car and I had my wits about me again, I headed very slowly to the VW dealership about a mile away.

The Passat's engine quit running though. So I parked the Passat and was starting to call for assistance using my cell phone when the steering wheel airbag exploded in my face. I have permanent neck and wrist damage and will probably be having therapy for another year or two.

There is no question that either inadvertent deployment was cause by an impact. The two witnesses in the car with me are about as credible as can be. They were prospective customers. I was a salesman taking them on a demonstration/test drive.

VWOA didn't and doesn't want to know.

Based on my research, I'm sure a fault not detected because the PDI was improperly done caused the air curtain to deploy.

The steering wheel airbag deployment was most likely triggered by the signal from my cell phone. The phone was within 2-3 inches of the airbag igniter. The electro-magnetic pulse from a cell phone antenna will, according to my sources, trigger airbag deployment if the antenna is close enough to the igniter. Documents I have come by indicate that the shielding against outside electrical interference with the igniter used by VW isn't sufficent to keep some cell phones from triggering an airbag when a phone is very close to an igniter.

I've been unable to get the media exposure I think this potentially deadly situation deserves. There are just too few reports of this happening, and most of them are about dealers and VWOA denying that this kind of thing can happen.