Volkswagen Passat Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
122 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Yesterday, I finally had my stock Michelin Energy tires replaced with Bridgestone Turanza LS-H tires that had to be special ordered. I had Sears do the mounting, balancing, etc. I am a newbie when it comes to wheels and tires, so these questions may seem very simple to you enthusiasts/experts:

1. I have noticed an immediate dip in my MPG. Is this normal with new tires?

2. This may be a cause of the reduced MPG. I noticed the front tires were inflated to about 28 PSI and the backs were inflated to 30 PSI. I'm used to about 32 all around, so I may inflate them to that level. Will this be OK?

3. I noticed they flipped the wheels on the right side of my car to the left side and the wheels on the left side to the right side. (I noticed this because I have some scratches on the right wheels, but now they're on the left side of my car.) Is this normal? Random? Doesnt matter?

4. Finally, I noticed on the inside of my wheels, that they have stuck some small weights with an adhesive. At first, I thought they were something that could be removed, until I removed one and noticed it was a weight. Were these on my Passat when I bought it brand new? Is it OK for me to move these weights further inside the wheel so they aren't so dang noticable? I only noticed them on the two left wheels. I didn't see them on the right wheels. What's going on here?

5. The people at Sears recommended I bring my tires in to be rotated and balanced at no charge every six months. I've also heard it's good to have them rotated after every 6,000 miles and so forth. When do you normally have your tires rotated and what do you recommend for me? I do a lot of highway driving.

I have a 2001.5 GLS 1.8T and my tire size is 195/65/15. Answers to any of these questions would really help me out. Thanks a lot!

·
Registered
1,035 Posts