Volkswagen Passat Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm not sure if I explained this correctly with my subject. But first and foremost, I would like to say HI as I am new to the VW world. Just picked up a CPO '07 Blue Graphite Passat 2.0T couple weeks ago. It replaced a Jeep Grand Cherokee as my daily driver, due to longer commute to work and gas mileage concerns. I also own a 'fun' car (not that the Passat isn't, because I am thoroughly impressed thus far) which is an '08 BMW 335i coupe. Anyway, the reason for this post is because I wonder if anyone else has noticed that the cabin of the car gets extremely 'turbulent' when driving average roadway speeds with the windows down. Obviously, the extent of 'turbulence' is proportional to the amount/extent of windows down. But compared to my 335i, it's extremely 'turbulent'. At first, I thought it was just me. But my wife even commented (she hates her hair blowing all over the place) the other day as we were running some errands. "I like the Bimmer better", she said in reference to driving with the windows down. I've tried manipulating which windows and how far to have down. No noticeable effect yet.

So my question to y'all nice folks...is there a certain way you guys/gals drive with the windows down without feeling like you're skydiving? Has anyone else noticed this, compared to his/her other cars?

·
Registered
707 Posts
ive noticed this too lately. the best solotion ive heard was rear windows down all the way and fronts cracked open and inch or two. or if u have a sunroof open tht and tht rear windows i cant test tht, no sunroof in my b6. but the rear down n front cracked has worked pretty well for me.

·
Registered
44 Posts
So my question to y'all nice folks...is there a certain way you guys/gals drive with the windows down without feeling like you're skydiving?
:D:D