Volkswagen Passat Forum banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
1,716 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I can buy the ECS kit for $260 and have fun putting it in :)

because I'm not happy about giving away $650-$700 for something that I can do my self

I have never done timing belt before so I will use the DIY write up http://www.clubb5.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=60301

anyone has any cons and pros to doing this job ? ... should I even try it myself or forget it cuz I will screw my car up

and also has anyone done it yet ?

btw ... I have a 98' passat manual 1.8T with 99k mile on it

I will also replace spark plugs as I'm on it ... what spark plugs should I get ? :)

·
Registered
1,374 Posts
I wish I could find that picture from the dude who snapped a picture at what he took off to get to the timing belt. It looked like his car had the front shaved off. It is doable but there is a reason the charge you 400 bucks in labor for the swap!

·
Registered
11 Posts
I agree with danteshors....if you want to tie up your car for about two days...and printout the DIY pages, then I wish you good luck. I have done many thing on cars these past 40 yrs, but after looking into what was at stake doing the TB by myself, I opted for the dealer. If he makes a mistake, then its covered by them, if I do it, then who knows what damage I could do. This is not like a brake job, or replacing an alternator...this is something the big boys do for a living, and they have all the tools to do it. If you intend to keep the car another 3 or more yrs. then let someone else take the responsibliity, and give your self peace of mind. Too many times I've read where someone on this board did it, and then was asking for help, because the engine won't idle right, or they hear a whine....if you have never done it before, take it to someone who has.

·
Registered
38 Posts