Volkswagen Passat Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
590 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I think I pushed my luck (Timing)

Well, last night I think my Passat might of jumped time on me. I can't say for sure, I'm no mechanic. The engine turns over, there's plenty of power, and it sounds like the fuel pump is working fine. When I popped the hood it smelled like something had went toast. The smell seemed to be coming from the front of the motor. A quick look around didn't show anything out of the ordinary so it must be something else.

You guys know anything I can check to verify if my assumption is right? I know you can't check a timing belt just by looking at it.

Thanks!

P.S. Passat at 80K and was going to change the belt in 2 weeks :(

·
Registered
4,426 Posts
Pull the plastic timing belt cover on the engine and see if the belt has any signs of being damaged. From what I know, the belt will either strip or break. If you've ever done a timing belt you'll know how tight the things are. As such it's not likely that the belt just jumped a notch and if it did there should be some signs of damage to the belt. If you're still unsure, find a compression gauge and see if you've lost compression on one or more cylinders. If the valves have been damaged then they won't be seating properly.

·
Registered
590 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I checked the belt when I went home for lunch and it appears to be completely intact, no noticeable damage. It's still tight and everything.

I'll have to get/borrow a compression gauge to check that.

·
In reverse, but chained to a tree.
13,906 Posts
do go into this smell a bit more... what does it smell like? brning plastic, rubber, steamed coolant? burning oil?

·
Registered
590 Posts
Discussion Starter #7