Volkswagen Passat Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I went to the dealer yesterday to pick up my car and the GM called me into his office and offered me a job as a Finance Manager, I currently work for a Local Bank as a Branch Manager, but as you all know they dont pay very well. now on the dealership the guy gave me some numbers that seem pretty good and I dont know if he is telling the truth. I know the Hours are very long (mon-sat from 9-8). I guess my question is this. What do you all think, is it worth the long hours and no days off, for a larger paycheck and do you think the GM is telling the truth, is that position well paid?

Thanks, I would greatly appreciate your help (advice) on the matter

almtzc

·
Registered
402 Posts
It depends on your priorities in life. If you want to make more money and have less time for yourself, then go for it. If you have kids and/or a wife, then you should ask yourself what is more important. It would cost someone one heck of a lot of money to get me away from my kids.

·
Registered
182 Posts
A few questions that you should ask yourself:

"Would I have pursued/applied for a job like this had this offer not come along?"

"What future opportunities at my current employeer am I giving up?"

"If I take this position, what future opportunities can I expect?"

"What do I want to be doing ten years from now and will my current or potential job get me there?"

It really boils down to your professional and personal interests and what makes you happy. If really value your time away from work to focus on family, friends and/or hobbies, then the long hours may not suit you. If you are focused on the money aspect and you feel that the longer hours are worthy of your time, then it may be easier to justify.