Volkswagen Passat Forum banner

1 - 20 of 56 Posts

·
Registered
797 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
General interest question for the DIY mechanics - at age 40 I'm just starting to learn how to work on my car. For those of you who've been at this a while longer, I'm curious to know:

What motivated you?
How did you get started?
What did you find most helpful as you were learning and tackling more complex projects?

Thanks!

·
I bring nothing to the table
183 Posts
1.) What motivated you?
2.) How did you get started?
3.) What did you find most helpful as you were learning and tackling more complex projects?
1.) I needed the blasted thing to run!!!
2.) With a handful of crappy tools and crappy shop manual - Chilton, IIRC.
3.) a. The oversight and instruction of those with much more experience that were willing to let / required me learn 'hands on'.
3.) b. Better tools and reference materials/shop manuals.

Sweet thread!

·
I had a steering knuckle in my shed. Really!
4,159 Posts
1) My first car was an MGB. Needed constant attention. The car was a 79, and it was like 1985.
2) well, within a week of owning it the exhaust manifold cracked, necessitating replacement of it and rebuild of the (manual) choke, which was dripping fuel onto the mani causing said crack
3)working with my father and friends. Edit: Oh and I had the Bentley.

·
Registered
952 Posts
1) I bought my first car in 1984-a 1974 Chevy Vega. 'Nuff said.
2) Made a pest of myself around several mechanics.
3) Neccessity is the mother of invention.

·
Registered
710 Posts
General interest question for the DIY mechanics - at age 40 I'm just starting to learn how to work on my car. For those of you who've been at this a while longer, I'm curious to know:

What motivated you?
How did you get started?
What did you find most helpful as you were learning and tackling more complex projects?

Thanks!
Motivation? Poverty, being incredibly cheap, other mechanics messing things up so I had to go back and re-fix things anyway.