Volkswagen Passat Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Superbad
1,456 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
To start off, i have a 99 1.8T AEB. im currently a college student on a budget. i have a couple things that i need and would like to fix on my b5. I would like to make it last before i make it fast. there's soo many things i wanna do to it mod wise, but i feel that proper preventative maintenance takes precedence over looks and bling for now. If i wasnt going to school full time, id be working and be able to pay for everything full boat, but college,the ever so money draining g/f, and all the other things a person needs to function suck the rest of my money. An on campus part time job isnt going to allow me to do everything at once. so im turning to you fellow passatworld members for your help. I have a list of things that need to get fixed. im asking for advice and help, partly some diagnosing, but mainly a set order of importance. What i mean is, which things are essential to be done immediately and which ones i can not put aside, but bump down in the order of importance. I will be fixing everything that i list, but since the college student budget is whats preventing me from doing it all at once, i gotta do it in installments. so without dragging on here goes..

here's my B5 w/ Pinstripe and 35% Tint all around @ approximately 67k

here's my B5 w/o Pinstripe and 35% Tint all around @ 72k

replaced old tb belt/old tensioner/old roller/old idler/waterpump/thermostat/ belts @ 78k ( got really lucky, was vacationing @ the Poconos, in PA, and car sounded like a diesel, stopped car, found out tensioner broke, but belt didnt jump teeth, cylinder heads/pistons we're all good, replaced it on site thanks to daddymatts 1.8t TB DIY writeup, mechanic friend, overnite Ultimate TBKIT from ECS, and a case of Dos Equis..saved a lot of $$ thanks PW)

these are recent pictures, i am now at 79K

Case 1_TIE ROD ENDS:
Driver side seems shot, theres some play.