Volkswagen Passat Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
774 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all-
Here's the dilemna. Time to replace the bump stops on the front shocks, so I'm doing the suspension at the same time. My question is: Do I go with H&R OE Sport or Sport shocks?

I WAS supposed to get the FK Hightec 35-40 kit (~1.25"), but they're out of stock in the US so looks like it's H&R Springs. I'm a VERY aggressive driver, but live in a city with really bad roads (potholes, continual resurfacing and line work, very uneven surfaces). Any thoughts? H&R OE Sports are on order (~.8" all-around), but I COULD change to the Sport springs if I wanted to (1.75" front 1.5" rear).

·
Registered
4,555 Posts
Awww man, my friend Keith and I were in the same boat with a 99 V6 Passat. I was helping my buddy fix up a 99 he bought at an auction and after getting everything fixed up and through inspection he wanted to tune the suspension. Price was a major issue, so after some searching he decided on the Hightec Kit as well but our local vendor couldn't get his hands on them for about a month, so we ended up going with KWSuspensions' Sport Package. I knew KW offered spring/damper combo's so we decided to give it a try on my friend's Passat. The specs are close to the Hightec Kit's and everyone knows that KW does a solid job with damper tuning.. Just ask folks running Variant 1's!!! Now that everything has settled, the car is riding great and handles like a winner. This kit is priced great when compared to the Eibach Pro System..

Now you can't go wrong with H&R springs! The OE Springs give a barely noticeable drop, and the Sports are a little more aggressive. You know how driving in D.C. can be, so you just have to watch out for road repairs and hazards. Now if you are replacing the shocks as well, you might want to consider Koni Sport Adjustables or Bilsteins.