Volkswagen Passat Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
431 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been looking around at different springs to lower my Passat. I was wondering what people's opinions were on the H&R Sport Springs. I'm new to cars and just wanted some insight. Where did you buy yours? Were the stock shocks act okay with them or too soft?

On a side note I would like to get a cold air intake and full cat-back exhaust soon, what to you suggest? The Neuspeed exhaust (on neuspeed.com) is pretty much what I'm looking for (a bit expensive though)...

Thanks a lot.

tjN

P.S. If you read this, please don't move on to the next post, give me some info!

·
Fore!
1,564 Posts
If you do a search you will find an almost endless amount of information on this topic. Most say that the struts should be upgraded with the springs, lest you want them to wear out and replace them later.

I have H&R OE sports for my V6, sitting in the box, waiting for warm weather to be installed with Koni adjustables. The non OEs have a more aggressive drop.

You can buy from tirerack.com, but there are others as well.

·
Registered
7,337 Posts
that will be an endless debate... your options are:

Eibach
Bilstein - a bit more stiff than usual
Koni - adjustable (my personal preference)

This is an old thread (can't even find the link) but here is some helpful info

"Here's an exerpt from an older thread on this question. It focuses more on people who mainly want to stiffen without lowering--I'm one of those. Its about a year old and I think it is still pretty accurate except for pricing. I imagine people will chime in if it isn't.
Quote #1: XXXXXXXXXX

The 1BE suspension is offered by VW for all versions of '98 to current model year Passats. It is just one of several spring and shock options available. "