Volkswagen Passat Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
121 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all,

My car is a 2001, B5, V6, Manual.

As the title suggests, my springs are here, and I am ready to install them. I wanted to get some thoughts from you about doing the install myself. I will take it for the required alignment afterwards, but I have air tools and of course tons of regular tools.

As you know, I am new to Passats, but not to VW's or building the hell out of them. This suspension is a new animal for me so I have a few questions....

1. Can the stock springs be removed without compressing them? If they need compressed, what is the best way to accomplish this at home? Will standard "rental" spring compressors work, or do I need to do this with a special tool? I've heard people mention something about compressing them with an air wrench. What is that all about?

2. Can the H&Rs be installed without compression? Mine are the ones that drop the car 1.7" in the front, and 1.8" in the rear. Don't know if that helps answer my question....

3. Any other parts need to be installed to help the new springs work better due to the lowered stance?

4. Any potential problems I can avoid by being forewarned? :)

As always... thanks!

·
Registered
642 Posts
Herman's write up is what you should check out (it was in the information forum). Following link: Herman's Suspension Write-up

1. You need to compress the springs to remove them. You'll need spring compressors (you can find them for about $8 at a shop) and if you want the job done faster - use the air compressor to compress the springs faster.

2. Only the front springs need to be compressed, the rears are not compressed.

3. Hopefully you picked up new shocks along with the springs. Otherwise your shocks will wear out and you will have to reinstall the whole suspension again...:crazy: