Volkswagen Passat Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Newbie here. Just bought an 05 GLX 4motion wagon new. I drove it from Denver to Seattle (taking it from 400 miles to 1,500 miles) and averaged about 19 mpg. It was cold, mountainous, etc, so the mileage didn't surprise me. I have only been filling it with premium (91 or 92 octane).

However, now I am in Seattle and am averaging like 14 mpg around the city. Car has about 2,000 miles on it now.

I realize that the 4motion, the tipronic, the wagon, and the V6 aren't helping me, but 14 is obviously way below the 17 or so you would expect.

I realize this topic has been much discussed on the forums, but my question is:

Is poor gas mileage to be expected for the first few thousand miles in a new car?

Thanks for the help... the gas bills are KILLING me.

·
Rollin in the LAV
1,760 Posts
jeffbaynard said:
It improves around 10k miles but don't hold yer breath.
I think you might have the heaviest Passat model possible.
W8 wagon is heavier.

Mileage should get better after a while. Make sure your tires are properly inflated, too. I drove my 02 V6 4Motion sedan from Denver to Portland last May and averaged around 24 mpg. Did you go through Utah or Wyoming? Either way, it's a nice drive. :)

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Arthrogrian19 said:
W8 wagon is heavier.

Did you go through Utah or Wyoming? Either way, it's a nice drive. :)
Indeed, the car is a beast. 14 mpg is a bit shocking though, really.:Yikes:

Took Berthod Pass through Steamboat (had to ski for a couple days) and then stayed on 40 through to Salt lake. From Salt Lake took the Interstate through Idaho and Eastern OR. Cut up through the Cascades into Seattle. Beautiful drive.